Excuse the Absence; We Have Big News

So I have not written since June, not too surprising as I have been quite ill and overloaded. For those of you that don’t know me, I am disabled and suffer from a bunch of invisible illnesses (POTS, EDS, MCAD, IC, chronic respiratory issues and many more).

So this year fate surprised my partner and I by blessing us with a child. I’m now just over 22 weeks pregnant! We are so excited. We’ve always wanted to be parents but worried we couldn’t have any. Such a miracle and we didn’t even try for one. So lucky! I just still can’t believe it.

image

Here's the little one and I a few weeks ago!

image

About 20 weeks pregnant. All belly!

Needless to say I’ve been quite ill as I’ve had to go off many medications and I’m not a typical pregnant lady health wise. I’ve also been trying to finish school (my master’s thesis in architecture). I also can not do anything on the house it seems because I’m pregnant. No big lifting, no plaster work …. Etc. My partner normally the chill extremely laid back half of our relationship is Mr. Concerned dad and doesn’t let me do much. I the normally OCD, over cautious planner is the opposite when it comes to being pregnant “I’m fine honey. I’m sure I can still do this.” I am being good though and working within the basic pregnancy do and don’t rules, maybe not so much within the means of my disorders. My partner John has been busy working away at amping up his handmade upholstered furniture business (check him out at www.jmfryfurniture.com or on Facebook ) so the house seems to rest in the same position it was in when I last wrote a post. Life is always busy, isn’t it? I would say this is a time where it’s the busiest it had been for some time.

image

A custom sectional we just delivered the other day. 22 weeks pregnant. I didn't lift anything; don't worry.

We’ve been talking a lot about what we want to do and got a few quotes and are just figuring out the details. I’ve also removed a wall of wood panelling in one bedroom downstairs to reveal a beautiful brick wall, the former exterior of the house between the kitchen from 1892 and a newer addition from approximately the 70’s. I’ll try to post this one soon. We’ve also took off some ceiling tiles and have been able to peer into the  70’s addition attic that is not accessible from elsewhere.

image

What most of my summer looked like. Preggo and in bed.

image

Although we did make it back out to Vancouver where we used to live for a gorgeous wedding of our friends. First time back in over 5 years! This is where we met.

We are in the midst of trying to sort out a plan for to renovate for our coming baby (read new roof, insulation and evicting our bat colony of freeloaders) and hunkering down for a winter this year that won’t cost us millions of dollars in utilities like last year.

Our due date is February 23, 2016 although I think it will be moved up a week. I’m in the midst of final edits for my thesis. John is continuing on designing, developing and producing a new line of furniture for a catalogue. We are also in the midst of looking into financing to get work done on the house and fingers crossed this will all come together. Next up some concrete plans.

Stay tuned for our plans and the onslaught of renovating that hopefully will follow.

Guess I better start getting to drawing out the house on the computer ASAP. So much to do and so exciting. Fingers crossed this financing comes to fruition!!

PS. It is only one baby, despite how large I already am!

Leave a comment